This website uses cookies, both the Museum’s own and those of third parties, in order to gather statistical information regarding your browsing activities. If you continue to browse this site we will consider that you accept the use of cookies. You can change your preference or find out more. Accept

Transparency Commitment

Compromiso de transparencia



On November 15, 2000, the Museum's owner institutions, the Bilbao City Council, Bizkaia Provincial Council and the Basque Government, (represented by the City Mayor Iñaki Azkuna, Chief Provincial Executive Josu Bergara and the Basque Government's regional Culture Minister Mª Carmen Garmendia) agreed to set up the Bilbao Fine Arts Museum Foundation with a view to promoting and developing the Bilbao Fine Arts Museum as a whole. Included in the Register of Foundations of the Basque Country in virtue of the Decree of 29 March 2001, number F-96, classified according to its expressed aims under Section 3a.

Our mission

To gather, conserve, study and disseminate the collection of ancient, modern and contemporary art of the Bilbao Fine Arts Museum; to strive to enrich it; to maintain services; and to promote quality activities with the goal of actively contributing to educating society and projecting the values of the Basque Country.

Board of Trustees

The foundation’s governing body is the Board of Trustees, comprising representatives of the Museum’s founding institutions – the mayor/mayoress representing the City Council of Bilbao, a provincial deputy representing the Provincial Council of Bizkaia, and the regional minister of culture representing the Basque Government – in addition to other individuals or entities whose significant contributions or academic or technical knowledge of the Museum’s activities may benefit the complete achievement of its founding aim. The presidency of the Board of Trustees is annual and alternates between the three founding members.


Mr Unai Rementeria Maiz, as General Deputy of the Provincial Council of Bizkaia


Mr Bingen Zupiria Gorostidi, as Regional Minister of Culture and Linguistic Policy of the Basque Government


{Excmo. Sr. D. Juan Mari Aburto Rique, en su condición de alcalde del Ayuntamiento de Bilbao
Sr. D. Xabier Sagredo Ormaza, en representación de BBK Fundazioa
Sr. D. Rafael Pardo Avellaneda, en su condición de director de la Fundación BBVA
Sr. D. Rafael Orbegozo Guzmán, en representación de Iberdrola, S. A.
Sra. D.ª Maite Iturbe Mendialdua, en representación de Euskal Irrati Telebista
Sr. D. Iñigo Barrenechea Lombardero, en representación de Diario El Correo, S.A.
Sr D. Javier Andrés Larrinaga, en representación de Editorial Iparraguirre, S. A. (Deia)
Sr. D. Eneko Arruebarrena Elizondo, en representación de Metro Bilbao, S. A.
Sra. D.ª Patricia Arias Otero, en representación de Fundación Banco Santander
Sr. D. Guillermo Barandiarán Olleros, en representación de Fundación Gondra Barandiarán
Sr. D. Emiliano López Atxurra, en representación de Petronor, S.A.
Sra. Dña. Begoña Marañón Unanue, en representación de Cadena SER}

In addition, the Board can agree to the appointment as Trustees of individuals or entities that make significant financial, artistic or academic contributions.

Executive Committee

Unless otherwise stated by the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee exercises the functions of management, decision-making, administration and representation of the Foundation, unless these functions legally and irrefutably correspond to the Board of Trustees.

The members of the Executive Committee, in representation of their founding institutions are: the minister of Culture of the Basque Government, the head of the Provincial Government of Bizkaia, and the Mayor of Bilbao; and up to three members who can be designated by the Board of Trustees to represent individuals or entities who are Trustees of the Foundation.

Commission for Artistic Evaluation

One of the most important organs within the Foundation is the Artistic Appraisal Commission, whose main aim it is to guide the Museum in all matters concerning the way it operates and plans its future guidelines in matters of science and exhibitions. The Commission, which was approved by the Board of Trustees on the 9th June 2003 last on the proposal of the curator, Javier Viar, is formed by the following advisers:

  • Jorge de Barandiarán (ex-Director of the Bilbao Fine Arts Museum)
  • Kosme de Barañano (art critic and independent commissioner)
  • Alfonso Gortázar (painter and Professor de Art at the Basque University - UPV)
  • Vicente Larrea (sculptor)
  • Mikel Lertxundi (researcher)
  • Marco Livingstone (art critic and independent commissioner)
  • Tomàs Llorens (ex-Chief Curator of the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, Madrid)
  • Anabel Morillo León (general manager, Fundación Focus-Abengoa)
  • Pilar Mur (historian)
  • Pierre Rosenberg (ex-Director of the Louvre Museum)
  • Mª Leticia Ruiz Gómez (Chief of the Spanish Painting (prior to 1700) Department, Prado Museum)

The Foundation also offers individual and corporate members a number of ways to participate in the Museum.

Friends of the Museum

The Friends of the Museum Bilbao Fine Arts Service came into being in 1981 to offer local society a way of participating more actively and directly in the life of the Museum.

For an annual fee, Friends of the Museum obtain a series of privileges giving preferential access to, information about and participation in the Museum's activities.

Return to list